Rythme de passage (UNI musiqc)

Emie R Roussel Trio

Released February 28, 2020

Juno Award Nominee Group Jazz Album of the Year 2021





Already ten years have passed since the Emie R Roussel Trio produced their first album. Time has gone by at a crazy pace, leading us in turn to make a stopover in the more classical world of the string quartet, unite in a single and indivisible core, and share our universe with inspired and inspiring musicians met where our influences and paths have crossed. Our music has also traveled, taking us on a journey to discover the beauty and aroma of wonderful places. The dawning of a new decade sees us inspired by all those moments and encounters as we begin a new chapter. That long journey over many years has shaped the identity of the trio. The music of this fifth album is like a conversation, in turn quiet or agitated, even passionate, a testament to our complicity and an important milestone in our collective history. 

Track Listing:

1. Yatse Club (Emie Rioux-Roussel) 06:56

2. Rythme de passage (Emie Rioux-Roussel) 06:48

3. Agent orange (Nicolas Bédard) 04:28

4. Maltagliati (Emie Rioux-Roussel) 06:14

5. Taniata (Nicolas Bédard) 05:31

6. Est (Emie Rioux-Roussel) 03:37

7. Loners (Nicolas Bédard) 06:33

8. Empreinte (Emie Rioux-Roussel) 06:06


Emie Rioux-Roussel: piano & keyboards
Nicolas Bédard: double bass & electric bass
Dominic Cloutier: drums

Recorded 7 – 10 November 2019, at Studios OPUS
Produced by Steeve St-Pierre, Jacques Roy
Recorded and Mixed by Jacques Roy (Studios OPUS)
CD Mastering by Jacques Roy (Studios OPUS)
Vinyl Mastering by Harris Newman (Grey Market Mastering)
Photos: Marie-Noëlle Cloutier
Graphic Design: Mario Arsenault


The artist’s job: Find your voice. The Montreal-based Emie Rioux Roussel Trio has spent ten years at the endeavor, one that has taken the group to Japan, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, France, Italy and Estonia, garnering many prestigious award nominations along the way. The music on Rythme de Passage, the group’s fifth album release, displays sharply-defined vision, a distinctive twenty-first century piano trio voice.
Putting the originality of the sound aside, influences on the trio’s approach, beginning with “Yatse Club,” seem European: Tord Gustavsen, via oblique melodies and sometimes drifting, sometimes insistent rhythms; Esbjorn Svensson’s E.S.T. for the electro-sparkle—Roussel uses, often, a Nord Stage 2 keyboard. Bassist Nicolas Bédard is also plugged in. Looking to the U.S. jazz scene, the compositions on Rythme de Passage lean in the direction of Brad Mehldau’s early tunesmithing, with circular motifs and understated intensity.
The set’s title tune begins with a ruminative piano statement which gathers momentum and grandeur, with Dominic Cloutier’s bursting cymbal splashes giving way to a tight, tart bass solo. “Agent Orange” is prickly and agitated, glistening, shifting into a rock-like groove, while “Tatiata” has perhaps the set’s prettiest, most passionate vibe, and “Empriente” begins by looking inward, before shifting to bright and optimistic gregariousness.
With a decade of playing and recording together, the Emie R. Roussel Trio has developed a distinctive and exciting modern piano trio approach, on full display on Rythme de Passage.

Dan McClenaghan (All About Jazz)