Legendary (MAMA/Summit Records)

Bob Florence Limited Edition

Released July 2009

Grammy Nominee for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album 2010






An extraordinary human being and musical genius with an illustrious life and career, the late, legendary Bob Florence blazed a trail of ‘Respect and Love’ where-ever he went; he was indeed made up of all the ingredients that LEGENDS are made of…
This multi-talented musician and band leader has received an incredible fourteen Grammy nominations and two Emmy awards and lent his formidable skills to such greats as Count Basie, Stan Kenton, Sarah Vaughan, Ray Charles and Louis Bellson.
In this last edition of The Limited Edition, it is all about Bob Florence, the Legendary Bob Florence.
All selections arranged by Bob Florence, including four new, original compositions – This is the definitive tribute to the Legend.

Track Listing:

1. Take the “A” Train (Duke Ellington) 9:06

2. I’m All Smiles (Michael Leonard) 6:49

3. Suicide is Painless (Johnny Mandel) 7:59

4. Fluffy (Bob Florence) 15:06

5. Geezerhood (Bob Florence) 5:45

6. Limited Edition Express (Bob Florence) 8:28

7. Luci (Bob Florence) 7:32

8. You Music Believe in Spring (Michel Legrand) 7:51

9. Auld Lang Syne (Traditional) 2:26


Carl Saunders, Pete DeSiena, Steve Huffsteter, Ron Stout, Larry Lunetta: trumpet

Don Shelton, Kim Richmond, Tom Peterson, Jeff Driskill, Bob Efford, Bob Carr, Rusty Higgins (6, 9): woodwinds

Alex Iles (3-6, 9), Bob McChesney, Scott Whitfield, Dave Ryan, Jacques Voyemant (1, 2, 7, 8): trombone

Craig Ware: bass trombone

Larry Koonse: guitar

Alan Broadbent: piano

Trey Henry: bass

Peter Erskine: drums

Recorded October 22-23, 2008

Producer: Kim Richmond, Phil Norman

Recording Supervisor, Engineer and mastered by Rich Breen

Additional Engineer: Bob McChesney, Michael Dees

Second Engineer: Paul Smith

Executive-Producer: Luci Jansen


Bob Florence gained the respect of many jazz musicians for his innovative scoring of familiar pieces, along with his impressive originals. His death in early 2008 provoked the recording of this excellent tribute, utilizing some of his best charts and musicians who had played with him over the years, with Alan Broadbent spelling Florence at the piano. Florence added repeated riffs in the background in several sections of his breezy setting of “Take the ‘A’ Train,” while his use of call and response and striking ensembles in his scoring of Johnny Mandel’s “Suicide Is Painless” (aka “Theme from M*A*S*H”) sets it apart from typical recordings. The composer’s sense of humor is apparent in his loping “Geezerhood,” which starts with whimsical exchanges between parts of the reed sections before taking a bluesy turn as it showcases trombonist Scott Whitfield’s delicious muted solo. A bit of Bill Evans’ “Turn Out the Stars” is utilized to introduce a rather brisk version of Michel Legrand’s “You Must Believe in Spring.” The final track features Bob Florence on piano (though the recording date is not given for this selection) in a particularly haunting rendition of “Auld Lang Syne,” which sounds as if he knew this would be his last recording. Highly recommended!

Ken Dryden (Allmusic)