Tempo Mínimo (Labidad Music)

Delia Fischer

Released April 19, 2019

DownBeat Five-Star Review






Born in Rio de Janeiro, the Latin Grammy nominée composer, singer, songwriter, arranger and producer combines her multiple talents to deliver the best in contemporary Brazilian music. Her diverse and rich music output ranges from MPB (Brazilian Popular Music) through electronics, post Bossa Nova, samba, jazz and pop, with incredible ease. Her solo discography, available in all streaming platforms includes Antonio (ECM-1999), Presente (Dubas-2010) and Saudações Egberto – with works of Egberto Gismonti (2011 Rob Digital / Tuff Beats Japan 2016) and Tempo Minimo (Labidad/Nomad 2019) which was picked as one of the the 6 best releases of 2019 by Downbeat Magazine USA and Latina Magazine Japan.

She started her recording career with Duo Fenix in the late 1980’s with which she made a name both as an accomplished pianist and composer, highlighted with appearances at the Sofia Jazz Festival, the club New Morning in Paris, and at the Montreux Jazz Festival of 1989. Her prestige as musician granted her engagements to arrange and perform in various successful musicals in Rio and Sao Paulo spanning more than a decade. More recently she delved in the sophisticated harmonies of the Ivan Lins songbook to rearrange a selection of pieces for the Simone Sings Ivan Lins national tour.

Delia has performed and recorded with Brazilian greats such as Marcos Vale, Milton Nascimento, Toninho Horta, Hermeto Pascoal and Romero Lubambo as well as with Scandinavian singer Lisa Nilsson, Italian star Mario Biondi and American sax player Bob Baldwin.

Her newest recording project released in 2019 offers a kaleidoscopic sound palette which reveals her unique musicianship through her charming singing, great musical ideas and contemporary sound.

Delia Fischer performs live solo, with her Brazilian Trio (Matias Correa on bass, Chapman Stick, voice effects / Antonio Fischer-Band on guitar, keyboards, drums and electronics) or with her European band (Christian Kappe on trumpet, Jan Dumée on acoustic and electric guitar, Jonathan Ihlenfeld on bass and Gilson Silveira on drums and percussion).

Track Listing:

1. Meu Tempo (Delia Fischer) 4:05

2. Orgia (Delia Fischer) 3:53

3. Samba Mínimo (Delia Fischer) 3:04

4. Tanto Faz (Delia Fischer / Claudio Botelho) 3:55

5. Canção de Autoajuda (Delia Fischer / Carlos Carega) 2:56

6. Garra (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sérgio Valle) 2:54

7. Ela Furou (Camila Costa / Delia Fischer) 3:04

8. Copacabana (Delia Fischer) 2:34

9. Mesmos Sons (Delia Fischer) 3:30

10. Feliz Por Um Triz (Delia Fischer) 3:20

11. Coraçoes Amarelos (Delia Fischer / Camila Costa) 4:15

12. Mercado (Delia Fischer / Thiago Picchi) 3:45


Delia Fischer: vocals, keyboards, Wurlitzer piano, bass synth, grand piano, Fender Rhodes

Sacha Amback: keyboards, loops

Levi Chaves: saxophones, bass clarinet

Matias Correa: double bass, samples, vocals

Antonio Fischer-Band: electric guitar, Fender Rhodes, keyboards, electric bass

Arthur Dutra: vibraphone

Marcelo Costa: percussion

Rafael Maia: drums

Rodrigo Campello: programming, guitar, effects

Pedro Mibielli: violin

Gretel Paganini: cello

Raphael Bezerra de Miranda: drums

Mafram do Maracanã: percussion

Diogo Gomes: trumpet, flugelhorn

Aline Goncalves: flutes

Elias Correa: trombone

Pedro Guedes –winds arrangement

Rodrigo Tavares: organ, clavinet

Domenico Lancelloti: sequencer

Alberto Continentino: electric bass

Ed Motta: vocals

Pretinho da Serrinha: vocals, cavaquinho

St. Petersburg Philarmonic: strings

Marcos Valle: vocals

Rui Alvim: bass clarinet

Marcelo Neves: clarinet

Jeferson Souza: flute

Diógenes de Souza: french horn

Sebastian Notini: drums, percussion

Andrea Dutra, Camila Costa, Cauê Nardi, Marcelo Saboya, Ricardo Goes, Suely Mesquita, Zeca Rodrigues: background vocals

Recorded at MiniStereo Studio by Rocardo Campello (1-7, 9-12); Secret Air And Gomus by Filipe Teixeira, Fabio Henriques and Pedro Guedes (6); Tenda da Raposa by Carlos Fuchs (4, 7); Apipema Estúdio by Sebastian Notini (11); Lontra Music by João Ferraz (11); Home Studio Cor de Sol by Matias Correa (2, 12)

Producer: Sacha Amback, Antonio Fischer-Band, Rodrigo Tavares, Pedro Guedes, Delia Fischer, Matias Correa

Mastered by Carlos Freitas

Mixed by Rodrigo Campelo (1-5, 7-11), Fábio Henriques (6), Flávio Senna (12)


Let’s save the best for last: Singer, pianist and arranger Delia Fischer, who has worked with Milton Nascimento, Toninho Horta and other Brazilian greats, proves herself an innovative composer/lyricist of Brazilian pop with Tempo Mínimo. The album took eight years to make—and it shows. The 12 songs, all keepers, are crafted with irresistible melodies and poetic lyrics about time, love and the search for meaning in an era of splendid digital isolation. Fischer’s limpid, understated voice somehow embodies both innocence and experience. The arrangements make creative use of flutes, clarinets, strings and electronica, blending Brazilian, jazz, pop and classical elements to make something sui generis. Guests include MPB star Ed Motta and Valle, who wrote the only cover, a duet with Fischer of his song “Garra” that should be a hit all over again.