Karrin Allyson

Released in 2013

DownBeat Four-Stars Review

YouTube: https://music.youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_l-7zJUqVKyFINKohV9xYUhagkzaXhnve0

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/5G2U3edbHiyUgwXVlBVLUy?si=thy0AvtTSvOXNl2XYahWdg


Four-time Grammy nominee, singer/pianist Karrin Allyson, will release the sophisticated ‘Yuletide Hideaway’. The 13-song album, is a combination of original Holiday songs and Christmas standards, and features Allyson’s trademark elegant, dreamy vocals. From ‘Let It Snow’ and ‘Winter Wonderland’ to Allyson’s stunning original title track and more, the album is at times playful, introspective, spirited – a timeless classic-in-the-making – as Allyson’s understated sophistication suggests a cozy, contemplative December evening by the fireplace, perhaps alone, perhaps with loved ones by our side.
Allyson comments: “This is a wonderful collection of old and new material including some originals from Chris Caswell and myself, and featuring Chris on Hammond B-3, the great Lee Sklar on bass, as well as my beautiful colleagues Rod Fleeman, Todd Strait, and Gerald Spaits. It’s just in time to give friends and family for their holiday season listening pleasure!”
Allyson earned the best coverage of her illustrious career, as well as a Grammy Nomination, for her breakthrough 2011 CD ‘’Round Midnight’. Earlier this year, Allyson was named winner in the DownBeat 61st Annual Critics Poll, in their category Rising Star-Female Vocalist.

Track Listing:

1. Yuletide Hideaway (Karrin Allyson / Chris Caswell) 03:24

2. Winter Oasis (Aubrey Caswell / Chris Caswell) 03:37

3. Christmas Bells Are Ringing (Karrin Allyson / Rod Fleeman) 03:26

4. Winter Wonderland (Felix Bernard / Richard B. Smith) 03:45

5. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! (Sammy Cahn / Jule Styne) 03:30

6. This Time of Year (Daniel Joseph Cerveny) 04:01

7. Snowbound (Dave Frishberg) 03:11

8. Christmas Time Is Here (Vince Guaraldi / Lee Mendelson) 03:33

9. It’s Love, It’s Christmas (Bill Evans) 03:12

10. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Ralph Blane / Hugh Martin) 03:22

11. You’re All I Need for Christmas (Chris Caswell) 02:28

12. I Like Snow (Patty McGovern Harlequin) 02:32

13. The Christmas Song (Mel Tormé / Bob Wells) 02:44


Karrin Allyson: vocals, acoustic piano

Chris Caswell: keyboards, celeste, organ

Rod Fleeman: guitar

Leland Sklar: electric bass

Todd Strait: drums, percussion, sleigh bells

Rod Fleeman: electric bass (2)

Gerald Spaits: acoustic bass

Recorded fall 2013 at Dave’s Room, North Hollywood CA, Flux Studios, NYC and Soundtrek Studios, K.C., MO

Produced by Karrin Allison

Co-Produced by Bill McGlaughlin

Mixed by Todd Whitelock

Mastered by Mark Wilder

Engineered by Dave Bianco, Justin Wilson and Todd Whitelock

Photography by Chris Reisig and Leeza Taylor Design by Mary O’Keefe Thomburg


Jazz singer and pianist Karrin Allyson is having a great year. She topped the category Rising Star– Female Vocalist in the 2013 DownBeat Critics Poll, and now she has delivered a sterling holiday album that fans will turn to year after year when the time comes to hang the mistletoe. For the cohesive, sophisticated Yuletide Hideaway she wisely utilized the compositional talents of her bandmates. The title track, which has the feel of a holiday standard, was written by Allyson and keyboardist Chris Caswell, while “Christmas Bells Are Ringing” (which the singer composed with guitarist Rod Fleeman) is spiced by her graceful scatting. Allyson is in full command throughout the disc, whether she’s crooning about romance on Dave Frishberg’s “Snowbound,” slowing down the tempo of “Winter Wonderland” or tugging baby boomers’ heartstrings with a stellar reading of Vince Guaraldi’s “Christmas Time Is Here.”

Frank-John Hadley (DownBeat)